Stephanie Herold (Berlin): What remains of the coming? Home and transformation.

The political scientist Parag Khanna 2021 sketches possible future scenarios of global migration in his widely acclaimed work “The Age of Migration”. At the same time he points out that migration is a multifaceted and spatially defining phenomenon of great historical continuity. In Europe occurred the major migration movements after the Second World War. Places of arrival for the refugees were often improvised. It was common to use existing camps or land used for military purposes further on by pragmatical reasons. These places often developed contrary to the original idea of temporary interim uses and stabilized to permanent settlements.

Traces of their history can be read there to this day and bear witness not only to their emergence and various subsequent phases of use, but also to appropriation and settling. These places show how the arriving and the staying inhabitants developed and transformed them according to their ideas and needs. The specific heritage of these places could thus be localised not only in a specific or determining time layer, but precisely in these processes of transformation. In this lecture this thesis shall be elaborated on the basis of various European examples and lead on to further questions of appropriation, preservation and transformation against the background of today’s refugee movements and the urgent problem of future domiciliation.

Stephanie Herold studied art history, European ethnology and heritage conservation in Bamberg, Bergen (Norway) and Berlin. 2008-2021 she was a research assistant at the Department of Monument Conservation of the Institute for Urban and Regional Planning at the Technical University Berlin and at the Competence Centre for Monument Sciences and Technologies at the University of Bamberg. In 2016 she completed her doctorate with a thesis on the role of beauty in monument conservation (transcript, 2018). Since autumn 2021 she has been Professor of Urban Conservation and Urban Heritage at TU Berlin. She combines questions of heritage theory and architectural history and is primarily concerned with monument perception and appropriation, as well as the valorisation of and engagement with recent architectural heritage, especially from post-war modernism to postmodernism.

Technical University Berlin

Due to the pandemic restrictions the lecture will take place as a video conference (Zoom):
https://tu-berlin.zoom.us/j/67459970613?pwd=RFNKY3N0UmJzUmdLMnVxV0x5TG5hZz09
Meeting-ID: 674 5997 0613
Kenncode: 575515
Telefoneinwahl: 496971049922

Stephanie Herold (Berlin): Was bleibt vom Kommen? Beheimatung und Transformation

In seinem viel beachteten Werk „Das Zeitalter der Migration“ entwirft der Politologe Parag Khanna 2021 mögliche Zukunftsszenarien der globalen Migration und weist zugleich darauf hin, dass Migration ein facettenreiches und räumlich prägendes Phänomen von großer historischer Konstanz ist. In Europa kam es insbesondere nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zu großen Migrationsbewegungen. Orte der Ankunft für die Geflüchteten waren oft Provisorien. Nicht selten wurden bestehende Lager und/oder militärisch genutztes Gelände pragmatisch weitergenutzt. Entgegen der ursprünglichen Vorstellung als temporäre Zwischennutzungen entwickelten sich diese Orte oft zu dauerhaften Siedlungen.

Spuren ihrer Geschichte lassen sich dort bis heute ablesen und zeugen nicht nur von Entstehung und verschiedenen folgenden Nutzungsphasen, sondern auch von Aneignung und Beheimatung, in deren Zuge die Orte durch Ankommende und Bleibende entsprechend ihrer Vorstellungen und Bedürfnisse weiterentwickelt und transformiert wurden. Das spezifische Erbe dieser Orte könnte man so nicht nur in einer bestimmten bzw. bestimmenden Zeitschicht lokalisieren, sondern gerade in diesen Prozessen der Transformation. Der Beitrag möchte diese These anhand verschiedener europäischer Beispiele ausarbeiten und davon ausgehend weitergehende Fragen nach Aneignung, Erhalt und Transformation zur Diskussion stellen – nicht zuletzt vor dem Hintergrund heutiger Flüchtlingsbewegungen und dem dringlichen Problem zukünftiger Beheimatung.

Stephanie Herold studierte Kunstgeschichte, Europäische Ethnologie und Denkmalpflege in Bamberg, Bergen (Norwegen) und Berlin. 2008–2021 war sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Fachgebiet Denkmalpflege des Instituts für Stadt- und Regionalplanung der TU Berlin und am Kompetenzzentrum Denkmalwissenschaften und Denkmaltechnologien an der Universität Bamberg. 2016 promovierte sie mit einer Arbeit zur Rolle des Schönen in der Denkmalpflege (transcript, 2018). Seit Herbst 2021 ist sie Professorin für städtebauliche Denkmalpflege und Urban Heritage an der TU Berlin. In ihrer Forschung verbindet sie denkmaltheoretische und architekturhistorische Fragestellungen und beschäftigt sich in erster Linie mit Denkmalwahrnehmung und -aneignung, sowie der Inwertsetzung von und Auseinandersetzung mit neuerem architektonischen Erbe, insbesondere von der Nachkriegsmoderne bis zur Postmoderne.

Technical University Berlin

Due to the pandemic restrictions the lecture will take place as a video conference (Zoom):
https://tu-berlin.zoom.us/j/67459970613?pwd=RFNKY3N0UmJzUmdLMnVxV0x5TG5hZz09
Meeting-ID: 674 5997 0613
Kenncode: 575515
Telefoneinwahl: 496971049922